Posted in | News | Semiconductors

Pittcon Announces 2006 Award Recipients

Distinguished Scientists from Academia and Industry to be Honored for Their Contribution to the Advancement of Science.

Pittsburgh, PA, December 5, 2005 – Pittcon (The Pittsburgh Conference on Analytical Chemistry and Applied Spectroscopy) announced today the recipients of eleven special awards given annually to scientific leaders who have made significant contributions in their fields. The awards will be presented at Pittcon, March 12 – 17, 2006, Orlando, FL. Each award is presented during a symposium honoring the recipient and their achievements. The awardees represent diverse scientific disciplines including separations science, bioanalytical science, vibrational spectroscopy, chromatography, electrochemistry, microfluidics, and sensors.

The prestigious Pittcon Heritage Award, which recognizes outstanding individuals whose entrepreneurial careers have shaped the instrumentation community, will be the first award presented on March 12, 2006, during Pittcon's first ever Sunday Technical Program. The Pittcon 2006 awards and recipients are:

  • 2006 Pittcon Heritage Award – Dr. Masao Horiba, HORIBA Ltd.
  • Analytical Chemistry Award for Young Investigators in Separation Sciences – Professor Michael T. Bowser, University of Minnesota
  • The Ralph N. Adams Award in Bioanalytical Chemistry – Dr. R. Mark Wightman, University of North Carolina
  • Bomem-Michelson Award – Professor Robert W. Field, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Chromatography Forum of Delaware Valley Dal Nogare Award – Professor Victoria L. McGuffin, Michigan State University
  • Charles N. Reilley and Young Investiagor Awards – Professor Mark E. Meyerhoff, University of Michigan and Professor Keith J. Stevenson, University of Texas
  • Pittsburgh Analytical Chemistry Award – Professor J. Michael Ramsey, University of North Carolina
  • Pittsburgh Conference Achievement Award – Professor Paul Cremer, Texas A & M University
  • Pittsburgh Spectroscopy Award – Professor Wolfgang Kiefer, Universitaet Wuerzburg
  • Tomas Hirschfeld Award – Professor Roumiana Tsenkova, Kobe University
  • Williams-Wright Award – Harry Owen, Kaiser Optical Systems

Chemical Heritage Foundation presents Dr. Masao HORIBA with the Pittcon Heritage Award


Please use one of the following formats to cite this article in your essay, paper or report:

  • APA

    Pittcon. (2023, September 11). Pittcon Announces 2006 Award Recipients. AZoOptics. Retrieved on October 09, 2023 from

  • MLA

    Pittcon. "Pittcon Announces 2006 Award Recipients". AZoOptics. 09 October 2023. <>.

  • Chicago

    Pittcon. "Pittcon Announces 2006 Award Recipients". AZoOptics. (accessed October 09, 2023).

  • Harvard

    Pittcon. 2023. Pittcon Announces 2006 Award Recipients. AZoOptics, viewed 09 October 2023,

Tell Us What You Think

Do you have a review, update or anything you would like to add to this news story?

Leave your feedback
Your comment type